WIOA (Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) Programs

The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) combines federally-funded Illinois job training programs into a comprehensive “workforce development” system through which individuals can find a job or train for a new career.

WIOA provides funding to upgrade computer and personal skills and take classes to retrain for an occupation.  WIOA-eligible individuals may be awarded an Individual Training Account (ITA), which can be used for WIOA-approved programs at WIOA-approved training provider sites, such as Oakton Community College.

If you would like to participate in WIOA, here’s how to get started:

1.   Attend a WIOA Orientation at the Skokie campus. Orientations are offered the first and third Tuesday of the month, 2:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m., room A151

Upcoming WIOA Orientations
EvanstonSkokie

Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Tuesday, October 24, 2017
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Tuesday, December 12 2017
Tuesday, December 26, 2017

   

Tuesday, September 19, 2017
Tuesday, October 3, 2017
Tuesday, October 17, 2017
Tuesday, November 7, 2017
Tuesday, November 21, 2017
Tuesday, December 5, 2017
Tuesday, December 19, 2017

WIOA Orientations are open to the public and registration is not required. You do not need to bring anything to the Orientation except for pen and paper to take notes.

2.    After the orientation, review the WIOA-approved programs available at Oakton.

3.    Contact Advising Services to make an appointment with an Academic Advisor to learn more about the program and Oakton’s policies and procedures.  You can reach us at 847.635.1700 (Des Plaines) or 847.635.1400 (Skokie)

Locations of local workNet offices:

Oakton Community College
National Able Network (Skokie Campus)
7701 Lincoln Avenue, Room A151
Skokie, IL 60077
847.635.1447

Evanston Public Library
1703 Orrington Avenue, 3rd floor
Evanston, IL  60201
847.448.8600

Illinois workNet Center
723 West Algonquin Road
Arlington Heights, IL  60005
847.981.7400